In 2015, this program was replaced by the UPstander/Bullying Prevention Youth Competition

A Young Humanitarian Award is given to:  1) a single child or 2) a group of children that have performed an extraordinary act of kindheartedness or service to the community, or demonstrated peaceful resolution of a conflict, compassion for the less fortunate, and/or kindness to all living things and the world in which we all live.

An Adult Award is also given to:  3) a teacher, counselor or principal for outstanding school leadership in a character education program, or those that have opened the eyes of their students by guiding them to consider activism, volunteerism and acts of good will.

Nominations are made by Mercer County superintendents and kindergarten through 8th grade school principals, teachers and counselors.  Click on the NOMINATION FORM icon to download a simple, 2-page nomination form.

The application deadline is April 15, 2015.

A team of independent judges from the community reviews the nominations and selects the winners.

Previous Award Winners ranged from:  a student who was a buddy/mentor to special needs students; a child who plays board games with seniors; kids who raised money for Tsunami and hurricane victims; youth who creatively raised money to continue research for cancer, juvenile diabetes and food allergies; a youth organized a pet food drive and donated what was collected to a local animal shelter; plus educators who inspire kids to be kind, consider volunteerism and who participate in community service.

Awards will be made in three categories to:  1) individuals; and 2) small groups or clubs (2 to 10 persons) and 3) a teacher, counselor or principal who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in character education or diversity appreciation.

Previous winners included students from the following schools:
Antheil Elementary School, Lawrence Intermediate School, Wilson Elementary School, Monument Middle School, Alexander Elementary School, Crockett Middle School, Sunnybrae Elementary School, Titusville Academy, Grover Middle School, G.E. Wilson School, Hedgepeth-Williams Elementary and Middle Schools, Lawrenceville Elementary School, Cambridge Elementary School, Princeton Charter School, Fisher Middle School, Parkway Elementary School and Community Middle School.

Winners and their schools will be notified in May.

Winners, family members and nominators will be honored guests at the Kidsbridge Young Humanitarian Awards Ceremony immediately preceding the Fourth Annual Kidsbridge Walk2Stop Bullying to be held on Saturday, June 13th on the campus of ETS / Educational Testing Service.

Questions?  Please call (609) 581-0239.

2014 Young Humanitarian Award Winners

2013 Young Humanitarian Award Winners — Ceremony & Biographies

2012 Young Humanitarian Award Winner’s Biographies