2013 Kidsbridge Young Humanitarians at Walk

Before the start of the Second Annual Kidsbridge Walk2Stop Bullying, Kidsbridge Board Chairman Frank Luchessi (PSEG) took on the role of Master of Ceremonies as he introduced the 2013 winners of the Kidsbridge Young Humanitarian Awards.  These kids and one teacher are being honored for their exemplary work in community service and their dedication to helping others.  All were asked to come up on the stage, along with their nominating teachers and counselors, in order to receive their awards during a short ceremony.

Kidsbridge congratulates all the young humanitarians for their creative and thoughtful efforts on the behalf of others, and send kudos to the educators that support and inspire their good deeds. Great job!


Jocelyn Tajiboy of Washington Elementary School was nominated by Glendi Alctantara for her willingness to help others in need.  Jocelyn not only helps her peers academically, she also donated her own hair so wigs could be made for children with cancer that have lost their own hair during cancer treatments.

Isabelle Julian of Sayon Elementary School was nominated by Tracy Longo for her fundraising efforts.  On her birthday, instead of asking for toys, Jocelyn asked for school supplies that she later donated to her school and other schools affected by Hurricane Sandy.

Heather Kerlin of Alexander Elementary School was nominated by Nancy Sotomayor for her many acts of kindness.  Specifically, Heather donated her hair to Locks of Love and is selling friendship bracelets to fund raise money for the serious and growing disease of Juvenile Diabetes.

Kayla Jackson of Lawrence Intermediate School was nominated by Jay Neiderman for her generous donation of more than one thousand blankets to people in need.  Kayla also volunteers regularly at the Anchor House shelter.

Daniel Alessi of Antheil Elementary School was nominated by Donna Steinmetz for his altruistic work at the Hamilton Care Facility and the Trenton Area Soup Kitchen.

Zaria Venable of Wilson Elementary School was nominated by Karen Mihalow for her determination and hard work while putting on a play about strength in the face of adversity that raised money for cancer research.

Anaya Patterson of Wilson Elementary School was nominated by Karen Mihalow for her community service and fundraising efforts to help save the rain forest.

Mr. Edward Butler, a teacher at Hedgepeth-Williams nominated by Erin Pinelli and Kevin O’Brien for his innovative ways of teaching and inspiring kids at the Trenton YMCA.   He is an amazing mentor to all his students and the epitome of a dedicated teacher.  Edward is an inspiration to his fellow educators and to Kidsbridge.